The Board of Education of the Tamaqua Area School District met in regular session in the LGI room on Tuesday January 21, 2025 at 7:30 PM with Larry Wittig presiding. President Wittig led with the "Pledge of Allegiance." A moment of silent meditation followed.

Present

Larry Wittig, President
Nicholas Boyle, Vice President
Daniel Schoener, Treasurer
Tom Bartasavage
Melanie Dillman

Nancy Jones Bryan Miller Mark Rother Trina Schellhammer

Absent

None

<u>Administrative Staff in Attendance</u> – Raymond Kistler, Superintendent; StephenToth, Assistant Superintendent; Connie Ligenza, Business Manager; Kenny Dunkelberger, Chief Operating Officer

Others in Attendance – member of the press, Erik Helbing, Solicitor

Boyle made a motion seconded by Bartasavage to approve the minutes from December 17, 2024. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Ligenza indicated that all correspondences and appropriate reports relating to the agenda were available to the members of the board.

Schoener made a motion seconded by Miller to ratify the transfer of funds and payment of bills. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Schoener made a motion seconded by Rother to approve the treasurer's report. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

<u>Superintendent Report</u> – Kinder indicated that the report in its entirety was attached to the agenda.

Hearings - None

President Wittig called for an executive session to discuss legal and personnel matters.

There was no meeting held.

President Wittig called for the recommendations of the committees.

<u>Auxiliary Committee</u> – Rother presented the following items as recommendations for the Auxiliary Committee.

Rother made a motion seconded by Bartasavage to approve the following for the 2024-2025 school year; Coaches; Volunteer Coaches; contingent upon the submission of the necessary documentation.

Allen Graver, Tamaqua, PA 18252, as a Volunteer Baseball Coach Courtney Hoffman, Barnesville, PA 18214, as an Assistant Softball Coach, at a stipend to be determined

Emma Kuczynski, Tamaqua, PA 18252, as a Volunteer Girls Basketball Coach Brandon Fogarty, New Ringgold, PA 17960, as a Volunteer Cross Country Coach Joe Holland, Albrightsville, PA 18210, as a Volunteer Cross Country Coach

Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

<u>Education Committee</u> - Dillman presented the following items as recommendations for the Education Committee.

Dillman made a motion seconded by Jones to approve the following for the 2024-2025 school year; 2025-2026 Schuylkill IU #29 Calendar; 2025-2026 TASD School Calendar; New Class Proposal-Advanced Spanish V; Long Term Substitute Social Studies Teacher; Substitute Teachers; Mentors; FMLA; Rescind Motion; Reclassification; Part-Time Paraprofessional; Substitute Paraprofessional; contingent upon the submission of the necessary documentation.

2025-2026 Schuylkill IU #29 Calendar 2025-2026 TASD School Calendar

2020 2020 Triob oction calcinadi

Approve New Class Proposal- Advanced Spanish V

Michael Adams, Tamaqua, PA 18252, Long Term Substitute Social Studies

Teacher at a rate to be determined

Sophia Boyle, Brockton, PA 17925, Substitute Teacher

Ashley Cragle, Nescopeck, PA 18635, Substitute Teacher

Matthew Neifert, Tamaqua, PA 18252, Substitute Teacher

Jada Schellhammer, New Ringgold, PA 17960, Substitute Teacher

Sherri Gerber, certified teacher, mentor to Elizabeth Hannon, certified teacher Jolene Barron, certified teacher, mentor to Christina Wagner, certified teacher Julia Shoff, certified teacher, mentor to Kaelyn Boran-Smith, certified teacher Erin Groody, for FMLA, beginning on or about January 29, 2025, with a tentative return to work date of May 12, 2025

Rescind the motion of November 19, 2024, approving Kahley Caputo, Tamaqua, PA 18252, as a Full-Time Paraprofessional

Reclassification, Sabrina Moyer, Tamaqua, PA 18252, Part-Time Paraprofessional to Full-Time Paraprofessional

Amanda Swartz, Tamaqua, PA 18252, Part-Time Paraprofessional at a rate of \$12.00 per hour

Zachary Dannenfelser, Brockton, PA 17925, Substitute Paraprofessional at a rate of \$10.75 per hour

Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

<u>Finance Committee</u> – Schoener presented the following items as recommendations for the Education committee.

Schoener made a motion seconded by Bartasavage to approve the following for the 2024-2025 school year as presented; Tax Report and Tax Exemptions; Payment of Bills; First Reading of Policies #610 and #611; IDEA B with the Schuylkill IU #29; Section 619 with the Schuylkill IU #29; Affirmative Vote Resolution; Permission to Advertise; Tax Collector Compensation; contingent upon the submission of the necessary documentation. Schoener made a motion seconded by Miller to forgo the readings of the listed policies. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Tax Report and Tax Exemptions, presented by the Business Manager Payment of Bills

First reading of the following policies:

Policy #610 – Purchases Subject to Bid/Quotation

Policy #611 – Purchases Budgeted

Approve IDEA B with the Schuylkill IU #29

Approve Section 619 with the Schuylkill IU #29

Affirmative Vote Resolution

Approve the permission to advertise for bids for a pole building and a concessions stand

Approve the tax collector compensation at \$2.00 per paid bill (in full) effective with the next term

Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Communications - None

Schoener made a motion seconded by Boyle to pay the monthly board invoices as presented. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Old Business – None

New Business - None

| Schoener made a motion seconded by Bartasavage to adjourn the meeting at 7:39 PM. Wittig | g, |
|--|----|
| Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller, Rother, and Schellhammer all voted | |
| "FOR." | |

Business Administrator/Board Secretary

Attest:

Connie Ligenza